Since March 2019, lawmakers in Florida have made medical marijuana patients very happy by ending the ban on smokable medicinal cannabis. Qualified medical patients can purchase, possess, and consume cannabis legally, but it’s still important to stay up to date with all of the rules and regulations that govern marijuana in Florida. Make sure you always have your Florida issued MMJ card on you and stay on the right side of the law to keep your cannabis experience positive and legal.
Cannabis Flower in Florida
The signing of Senate Bill 182 in Florida is what made it possible for patients to receive medical marijuana. This bill contains a lot of language about the appropriate process for consuming cannabis flower, and there are still restrictions in place.
The laws surrounding medical marijuana are intended to serve public safety, with many of them written to ensure that only qualified and approved patients have access to cannabis. The two biggest things people need to know is how much marijuana they’re allowed to purchase at once, and how much they’re allowed to possess.
How Much Flower Can I Purchase in Florida?
The answer to this question depends partially on the state laws and partially on your own doctor. The state of Florida has set a limit that says patients may not purchase more than 2.5 ounces of smokable marijuana within a given 35-day stretch of time. That’s the maximum a doctor may recommend, but it’s also technically possible a doctor would recommend lower amounts than that, depending on your MMJ evaluation.
If you’re unsure how much marijuana you’re able to buy, check with the doctor who gave you your recommendation. If you don’t feel that your recommendation allows you to buy enough cannabis, consult your doctor or opt for a second opinion from a different MMJ provider. They may be able to raise your limit, so long as it stays below the legal maximum of 2.5 ounces per 35 days.
How Much Flower Can I Possess in Florida?
Patients with a doctor’s recommendation for smokable cannabis may be able to buy up to 2.5 ounces within a 35-day period, but the rules governing possession are slightly different. If you have a recommendation for smokable marijuana, you’re allowed to possess as much as four ounces of cannabis flower at any one time.
The reason this amount is larger than what you see for the 35-day purchase limit is that lawmakers understand that some medical marijuana patients may still have leftover cannabis from their previous purchases.
How Am I Allowed to Smoke Marijuana in Florida?
Patients have a good deal of freedom in this regard, but that doesn’t mean you can smoke marijuana whenever and wherever you please. For example, using medical cannabis of any kind is still illegal in all public buildings throughout the state of Florida. Other cities–like Miami Beach–have banned smoking any cannabis or hemp products in public. Those who are caught doing so, regardless of their MMJ status, are subject to a fine and potential jail time. It is always wise to check with your local laws regarding smoking in public.
Choosing Your MMJ in Florida
You are required to purchase your delivery method for smokable cannabis in one of the state-approved Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers. These MMTC’s (aka dispensaries) in Florida are allowed to connect patients with pre-packaged cannabis flower and pre-rolls. Packages of flower must be sealed in its original white, opaque packaging that doesn’t contain any form of marketing language.
Only the brand logo and warning language are allowed to appear on the packaging. Furthermore, patients must always keep their cannabis in their approved packaging–especially if you are driving with your newly purchased product.
Cannabis Dispensary Florida
Here at Fluent, the curators in our Florida medical marijuana dispensaries are extremely well-educated about local marijuana laws. While we’re not able to give any form of legal advice, we can help you make sense of the process. Come visit us today, or contact us to learn more.
Image Credit: Shutterstock/Flapas